Saturday, January 31, 2015

Burleigh County Cup round 4!

Greetings from Burleigh County. With spring right around the corner it's time to get ready for the fourth running of the Burleigh County Cup! This year we aim to bring you the same high quality event, copious amounts of gravel roads, fun atmosphere and good times as you've come to expect ... and we are still doing it for FREE. All you need to do is mail a postcard (details below, make sure it is postmarked by FEBRUARY 28, 2015, and you are good to go!) We are cutting off registration after FEBRUARY 28 this year for a couple of reasons: 1. If you do not have the motivation to get a postcard and drop it in the mail in the next month's time, perhaps cycling is a little too demanding of activity for you and you should find another activity like eating Hot Pockets and watching TV. And 2: (the main reason) It will make it that much easier on us, the organizers. We strive to give you a great event, for no charge (OK, maybe the postage is around 40¢ for the postcard). With all of the preparation that goes into the Cup: 2 free meals per rider (night before at the pre-race meeting and post-ride), email correspondence, packet organization, lists, route planning, etc. it will make it that much easier on us to have the final roster and head count a little ways ahead of time. We appreciate your understanding! Now get on it!

About the event: This will be a self supported gravel road cycling event (though the 75 miles option will have a drop bag option) on the gravel roads (very hilly at times) of Burleigh County, just outside of Bismarck, North Dakota on May 9, 2015. There will be two distances: 35 miles (The Sippy Cup) and 75 miles (Burleigh County Cup).

To register, purchase or make a post card and write this info on it:

Your Name
E-mail Address
Distance class (35 mile Sippy Cup or 75 Mile Burleigh County Cup)

Send them to:

BCC / Elaina Huber
1451 Omaha Drive
Bismarck, N.D. 58504

Simple as that. The event is free to all participants, thanks to our awesome sponsors (we'll be covering that great group of folks in a separate post in a few days). Then show up at Eagles park (just north of Bismarck, N.D. on 1804 see map) on Saturday May 9th for the fun. Exact time of start will depend on the temperature. We like to start early as possible, but if we feel it will compromise the rider's experience we start a little later. We determine the start time a week or two out and go by current forecasts. We will email all individuals registered to confirm you are registered. This email will come out after all registrations are accounted for. Don't stress getting in, if you sent your card in you'll be fine. This year we again have the Eagles park campground for the entire weekend, and everyone is welcome to stay there (free of charge) on Friday night before the race and also Saturday night following. Saturday night people tend to camp out and have a good time around the campfires, and we encourage this. We will have a postride meal and post ride beer available for the 21+.

A few things to make sure you have for race day:

1 - Properly calibrated cycling computer - This is a mapped out route, and you will want this to determine the distance in between turns. Sure you can try to follow the pack, but some roads are double backed on and looking for tire tracks may result in your getting lost. Have a cycling computer on your bike and ready to go.

2 - Cue card holder - You will be given cards with the map of directions on them the day of the ride. You can stuff them in your pocket or bag, but having something like a Banjo Brother's cue card holder makes life and the ride a lot easier.

3 - Extra parts - Having an extra tube and pump is just common sense. What about an extra chain link or a multi tool though? Carrying a heavy load stinks, but not as bad as walking 30 miles back to the park.

That's all for now. Email any and all questions you have to

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Thank you and even some results ...

Here are the final times for the 2014 Burleigh County Cup. Thank you to everyone who came out this year to make it another great running of the Cup. There are many thank-you's to be said but perhaps none bigger than our sponsors who make this event possible to put on free of charge. I'll say it till my lips turn blue: Know who they are, thank them, support them and tell your friends about the good thing they do for the community.

Also a huge thank you to the Burleigh County Sheriffs department for blocking the highway and keeping it safe for all cyclists to get onto the gravel. Deputy Darrin Rixen, our hats off to you.


Women's BCC 
1. Bianca Bergman   5:06:30 
2. Kelly Jean   5:12:00 
3. Carol Aron   6:30:30 
4. Brandi Cain   6:41:11 

Women's Sippy 
1. Asano Otsu   2:23:00 
2. Sarah Elmer   2:35:38 
3. Kami Emineth   3:16:04 
4. Heather Haag   3:17:58 
5. Lori Welder   3:18:33 
6. Melody Hoffmann   3:22:12 
7. Kari Fried   3:27:43 
8. Annette DeForest   3:29:50 
9. Tracy Evans   3:35:20 
    Sigrida Reinis   3:35:20 
11. April Bergan   3:41:51 
      Jill Walcker   3:41:51 
13. Kim Cain   3:47:00 

Men's Sippy Cup 
1. Dave Burns   2:12:00 
2. Paul Everson   2:16:00 
3. Jayden Hanson   2:18:00 
4. Parker Scott   2:20:00 
5. Ryan Koch   2:28:08 
6. Brandon Mellem   2:32:20 
7. Bob Hixon   2:35:37 
8. Wes Rivinius   2:38:19 
9. Jared Fuchs   2:39:13 
10. Brent Brannan   2:49:55 
11. Eleno Vallejo   2:43:53 
12. Ben Ahrens   2:49:55 
13. Scott Glasser   3:00:30 
14. David Peterson   3:03:37 
15. Jeff Thompson   3:11:38 
16. Tom Gage   3:11:41 
17. Perry Freidig   3:12:00 
18. Jeff Steen   3:15:07 
19. Miles Ean   3:19:00 
20. Eric Schwingler   3:19:26 
21. Lynn Glock   3:29:50 
22. Clayton Fried   3:31:10 
      Rylee Hermanson   3:31:10 
24. David Toledo   3:35:20 
25. Joel Springan   3:47:00 
Keith LoMurray   DNF 
Travis Ness   DNF 
James Sigl   DNF 
David Unkenholz   DNF 
Shane Colis   DNF 

Men's BCC 
1. Chris Knoll   4:12:00 
2. Adam Bergman   4:12:01 
3. John Morgan   4:14:41 
4. Owen Britton   4:35:47 
5. Matt Christiansen   4:35:48 
6. Hurl   4:39:39 
7. Brian Beattie   4:47:47 
8. Christopher Jones   4:47:57 
9. Paul Otsu   4:48:00 
10.Aaron Lael   4:52:10 
11. Nick Ybarra   4:54:00 
12. Randall Dietel   4:59:17 
13. Peter Akimoto   5:02:00 
14. John Strychynski   5:06:30 
15. Mark Liebig   5:08:22 
16. Dennis Kemmesat   5:09:00 
17. Mike Backes   5:09:28 
18. Alex Miller   5:11:40 
19. Martin Knoll   5:15:36 
20. Chris Heid   5:29:47 
      Timmy Crawford   5:29:47 
22. Jasper Klein   5:30:42 
23. Josh Bruhn   5:43:30 
24. David Lehnherr   5:47:00 
25. Chad Bergan   5:53:50 
26. Tony Keys   5:56:28 
27. Joe Vacek   6:00:36 
28. Jeremy Duckwitz   6:01:00 
29. Jeff Long   6:02:48 
30. Tayo Basquiat   6:04:35 
31. Phil Helfrich   6:04:35 
32. Bobby Light   6:17:21 
33. Lance Larson   6:23:00 
34. Bob Doll   6:30:30 
35. Aaron Kennedy   6:45:50 
36. KC Turczak   7:28:00 
      Cory Pratt   7:28:00 
Jake Aisenbrey   DNF 
Chris Barrett   DNF 
Trevor Hawkins   DNF 
John Weisgerber   DNF 
Dani Molnar   DNF